Rachel McLean

– Thrillers That Make You Think

Rachel McLean Crime Books: Reading Order

All of my crime books are linked, so you’ll find characters who appear in multiple series.

Each series is designed for the books within it to be read in order. You can read the series themselves in any order you want, but you might want to read them in the order in which they take place.

Detective Zoe Finch Series

The big question in this series is: when do you read the prequel novella? I recommend reading it after Deadly Wishes, meaning you get to know Zoe and her colleagues first. This is the order in which I wrote the books. (It doesn’t matter too much though, if you want to read Deadly Origins first or at any point in the series, it won’t spoil the other books.)

Note: Lesley appears a lot in these books and you learn in detail about the events that led to her being sent to Dorset. If you’ve already read the Dorset Crime books it won’t spoil those, but will give you some background.

Here’s my recommended reading order:

  1. Book 1, Deadly Wishes
  2. Free prequel novella, Deadly Origins
  3. Book 2, Deadly Choices
  4. Book 3, Deadly Desires
  5. Book 4, Deadly Terror
  6. Book 5, Deadly Reprisal
  7. Book 6, Deadly Fallout

Dorset Crime Series

The Dorset Crime series takes place after the first six Zoe Finch books, when DCI Lesley Clarke is transferred to Dorset. You can read this series before the Zoe Finch series if you want. I’ve made sure there are no major spoilers in the books so far.

Note: Zoe appears in these books as part of a storyline that’s separate from the main series storyline in the Zoe Finch books. So if you read these first, it won’t spoil those books.

  1. Book 1, The Corfe Castle Murders
  2. Book 2, The Clifftop Murders
  3. Book 3, The Island Murders
  4. Book 4, The Monument Murders
  5. Book 5, The Millionaire Murders
  6. Book 6, The Fossil Beach Murders

And when you’ve finished them all…

If you want to read more of my books, there are two series and one standalone novel to choose from. These aren’t crime books.

The Village series is a post-apocalyptic psychological thriller trilogy focusing on a family whose past catches up with them. If you liked Survivors or Lost you’ll enjoy these.

The Division Bell trilogy consists of three political thrillers taking place in an imagined dystopian near future. If you liked House of Cards or Bodyguard you’ll enjoy these.

Unborn is a standalone dystopia combined with a legal thriller, taking place in an imagined near future USA. If you liked The Handmaid’s Tale this might be your cup of tea.

Posted in News, Writing

2 responses to “Rachel McLean Crime Books: Reading Order”

  1. Theresa Scott says:

    Hi ,I’ve read all Zoe’s books ,fantastic! Now starting on Lesley’s stories

  2. John Dillon says:

    Tbankyou for the timeline. I found Corfe Castle on amazon kindle and have just finished the clifftop murders breathless more coffee and dash to work

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: