Rachel McLean

Author of Twisted Realities

Book recommendations: kidnapping

Hello and welcome to the latest instalment of my series of book recommendations!

This time I’m looking at books which feature abductions or kidnapping, which is a theme of my first book, Thicker Than Water. Here are some books you might enjoy if you like suspense thrillers.

Room by Emma Donoghue

Told from the perspective of a five year old boy, which could be awful but really isn’t. Its biggest takeaway for me was the different perceptions of captivity and the captor that the boy and his mother had.

Today I’m five. I was four last night going to sleep in Wardrobe, but when I wake up in Bed in the dark I’m changed to five, abracadabra.

Jack lives with his Ma in Room. Room has a single locked door and a skylight, and it measures ten feet by ten feet. Jack loves watching TV but he knows that nothing he sees on the screen is truly real – only him, Ma and the things in Room. Until the day Ma admits there is a world outside.

Devastating yet uplifting, Room by Emma Donoghue is a luminous portrait of a boundless maternal love. It has sold more than two million copies, was a number one bestseller and was shortlisted for the Man Booker and Orange prizes. Few books have reached modern classic status so swiftly.

Buy on Amazon UK and US

The Escape by C.L. Taylor

C.L. Taylor is known for writing gripping thrillers with great twists and this one doesn’t disappoint.

“Look after your daughter’s things. And your daughter…”

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn’t.

The stranger knows Jo’s name, she knows her husband Max and she’s got a glove belonging to Jo’s two year old daughter Elise.

What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo’s own husband turn against her.

No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there’s only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.

The Sunday Times bestseller returns with her biggest and best book yet. The perfect read for fans of Paula Hawkins and Clare Mackintosh.

Buy on Amazon UK and US.

The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

A couple have been invited to a dinner party next door. When the babysitter lets them down, they decide it’ll be ok to leave the baby and check on her every half an hour.

When I was a baby, my parents actually did this to me. Things were a bit more relaxed in the 1970s! And I was absolutely fine, of course. But the baby in this book isn’t…

You never know what’s happening on the other side of the wall.

Your neighbour told you that she didn’t want your six-month-old daughter at the dinner party. Nothing personal, she just couldn’t stand her crying.

Your husband said it would be fine. After all, you only live next door. You’ll have the baby monitor and you’ll take it in turns to go back every half hour.

Your daughter was sleeping when you checked on her last. But now, as you race up the stairs in your deathly quiet house, your worst fears are realized. She’s gone.

You’ve never had to call the police before. But now they’re in your home, and who knows what they’ll find there.

What would you be capable of, when pushed past your limit?

Buy it on Amazon UK and US.

Thicker Than Water by Rachel McLean

Thicker Than Water book coverAnd of course I’m not going to resist including my own book in this list. You’ll have to read it to find out who gets kidnapped and why!

Six years after floods made her family homeless, Jess Dyer has found safety on the wild North Yorkshire coast.

Ruth Dyer is forging a role as doctor to their community of refugees and the rock around which the family revolves.

But the family is haunted by memories of the journey north and the loss of their mother Sonia. And their community is under attack from the local population.
When Jess answers a distress call at sea, she brings strangers to their village and puts Ruth in jeopardy. Jess has to calm the community, mount a rescue mission and keep her brother Ben from tipping into insanity.

Will she succeed? 
And will she find Ruth before it’s too late?

‘Thicker Than Water’ is a gripping thriller about family, belonging and revenge.

Buy on Amazon UK and US.

Those are my recommendations for books featuring kidnappings and abduction. Do you have any to add to the list? Please let me know in the comments!

SaveSave

Posted in Book Recommendations
Tagged , |

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: